aps mornington peninsula

APS Mornington Peninsula is a local member group of Australian Plants Society Victoria.

APS Mornington Peninsula Activities Calendar 2018

dscn8730

Upcoming Events for 2018

Sunday 9th December

12 noon at our leader, Verena Reich’s, house and garden – 24 Mashie Court, Rosebud.

Flowers and Fruit – End of year lunch

 

Previous 2018 Events

Tuesday 20th February

7:00pm for a 7:30pm start at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: The Ties That Bind – the Role of Fungi in Ecosystems

Speaker: Sapphire McMullan Fisher, Coordinator Fungimap/Mycologist RBG Melbourne

 

Saturday 17th March

10:30am at Austplant, Purves Road, Arthurs Seat

Topic: Workshop on native plant maintenance

Speaker: Daavid Turnbull from Austplant

 

Tuesday 17th April

2:00pm for 2:30pm start at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Tootgarook Swamp

Speaker: Cameron Brown, President of Save Tootgarook Swamp

Saturday 5th May

10:30am – 3:30pm at Seawinds, Arthurs Seat

Annual Plant Sale

 

Saturday 19th May

10:30am at Main Ridge

Topic: Biolinking the Peninsula

Speaker and guide: Greg Holland, Landcare

 

Saturday 16th June

am Benton Square Community Centre

Host of APS Victoria Committee Meeting

pm Balcombe Estuary Boardwalk

All APS MornPen members welcome

 

Tuesday 19th June

7:00pm for a 7:30pm start at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Wildflowers Tour of SouthWest Western Australia 2017

Speaker: APS MornPen members

 

Saturday 21st July

10:30am at Melton Botanic Gardens

Topic: Winter flowers

Car pool from Mornington Peninsula

 

Saturday 28th July

9:30am at Devilbend Reservoir

Topic: Planting morning

Leader: Sam Pollard

 

Tuesday 21st August

2:00pm for 2:30pm start at Benton Square Community Centre

AGM

plus

Topic: Native planting at Devilbend Golf Course

Speaker: Laurie Leyden

 

Saturday 25th August

9:30am at Devilbend Reservoir

Topic: Weeding morning

Leader: Sam Pollard

 

Saturday 8th September

Topic: Bonsai workshop/demonstration

Speaker: Charles Saffroy

Venue : Charles’ garden

 

Saturday 22nd September

10:30am, Pines Flora and Fauna Reserve

Topic: Spring Walk

 

Saturday 6th October

10:30am at 21 and 25 Somerset Drive, Dromana

Topic: Spring garden visits

Speakers: Mark and Karen Allison, Norma and David Baud

 

Tuesday 16th October

7:00pm for a 7:30pm start at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Boronia oil

Speaker: Chris Long

Tuesday 20th November

7:00pm for a 7:30pm start at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Mad About Moths

Speaker: Cathy Powers

 

Previous 2017 Events

Tuesday 21st February

7:30pm at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Flora of Mt Hotham

Speaker: Verena Reich

 

Saturday 18th March

10:30am at Merricks Nursery

Topic: Propagation Workshop

Speaker: Richard Anderson

 

Tuesday 18th April

2:30pm at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Gardens, Gardeners and APS Victoria

Speaker: Chris Long, APS Victoria President

Saturday 29th April

Annual Plant Sale at Seawinds, Arthurs Seat State Park

 

Saturday 20th May

10:30 at Tootgarook Wetland Reserve for a ‘Walk in the Swamp’

Guide: Maayan Rousso, Friend of Tootgarook Wetland Reserves,

Vice president of Save Tootgarook Swamp

 

Tuesday 20th June

7:30pm at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Making a Frog Bog

Speaker Mark Adams, Local Native Flora

 

Saturday 15th July

2:30pm at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Growing Grevilleas

Speaker: Neil Marriott

 

Saturday 29th July

9:30am at Devilbend Reservoir

Planting morning with Ranger Sam Pollard

 

Tuesday 15th August

2:30pm at Benton Square Community Centre

AGM plus

Lake Eyre – Verena Reich

Saturday 26th August

9:30am at Devilbend Reservoir

Weeding morning with Ranger Sam Pollard

 

Saturday 16th September

10:30am at Warragine Reserve or nearby for a post burn walk

Mornington Peninsula Shire Ranger

 

Saturday 7th October

10:30am Frankston gardens, public and private

Tuesday 17th October

Topic: Fire Reduction Burning

Speaker: Damien Sayer, Ranger in Charge Fire and Emergency Operations,
South East Melbourne District, Parks Vic

 

Tuesday 21st November

7:30pm at Benton Square Community Centre

Topic: Landscape Architecture and Native Plants

Speaker: Barrie Gallacher, MA Landscape Architecture

 

Sunday 10th December

Christmas break up lunch

Sunday 10th December at our leader, Verena Reich’s, house and garden – 24 Mashie Court, Rosebud.

Advertisements